If your child is under the age of 8, he or she is not allowed to ride an all-terrain vehicle in North Carolina.
Here is the statute:
It is unlawful for any parent or legal guardian of a person less than eight years of age to knowingly permit that person to operate an all-terrain vehicle.
Also, it is unlawful for any parent or legal guardian of a child less than 16 years of age to permit that person to operate an all-terrain vehicle unless the person is under the continuous visual supervision of a person 18 years of age or older while operating the all-terrain vehicle.
The law also requires you to wear eye protection and a safety helmet that meets United States Department of Transportation standards for motorcycle helmets.
Finally, effective October 1, 2006, in North Carolina every all-terrain vehicle operator born on or after January 1, 1990, shall possess a safety certificate indicating successful completion of an all-terrain vehicle safety course.